



The official name of South Africa in the Republic of South Africa. The country is located at the southern end of the African continent.

The largest city in South Africa is Johannesburg but this is not the capital. South Africa actually has three capital cities: Cape Town; Pretoria; and Bloemfontein.

There are 11 official languages spoken in South Africa, including: isiZulu; isiXhosa; Afrikaans; and English.

The currency used is the South African Rand.

Wildlife

122

South Africa is home to an abundant variety of wildlife and the country has many national parks to help protect it. South African animals include: elephants; giraffes, lions, zebras; and rhinoceroses.

Did you know...?

The African elephant is the largest living land mammal in the world.

Quick Questions



🔵 Cape Town

🔘 Johannesburg

THE EXTRAORDINARY LIFE OF

🔵 Bloemfontein

🔵 Pretoria

2. Find and copy a word which means 'large quantities' or 'plentiful'.

3. Number the events 1-4 to show the order that they happen in the text.

South Africa has three capital cities.

The currency used is the South African Rand.

The official name of South Africa is the Republic of South Africa.

There are 11 official languages spoken in South Africa.

4. Why do you think South Africa has many national parks to protect its wildlife?







The official name of South Africa in the Republic of South Africa. The country is located at the southern end of the African continent.

The largest city in South Africa is Johannesburg but this is not the capital. South Africa actually has three capital cities: Cape Town; Pretoria; and Bloemfontein.

There are 11 official languages spoken in South Africa, including: isiZulu; isiXhosa; Afrikaans; and English.

The currency used is the South African Rand.

Wildlife

122

South Africa is home to an abundant variety of wildlife and the country has many national parks to help protect it. South African animals include: elephants; giraffes, lions, zebras; and rhinoceroses.

Did you know...?

The African elephant is the largest living land mammal in the world.





- **1.** What is the largest city in South Africa? Tick one.
 - Cape Town
 - O Bloemfontein

O Pretoria

O Johannesburg

2. Find and copy a word which means 'large quantities' or 'plentiful'.

The name Rolihlahla means 'pulling the branch of a tree'.

- 3. Number the events 1-4 to show the order that they happen in the text.
- South Africa has three capital cities. 2
- The currency used is the South African Rand. 4
- The official name of South Africa is the Republic of 1 South Africa.
- There are 11 official languages spoken in South Africa. 3
- Why do you think South Africa has many national parks to 4 protect its wildlife?

Pupils' own responses, such as: We don't know about Nelson Mandela's parents or whether he had any brothers or sisters.

